Fields Medals 2022 have been announced

Jul 05, 2022

Hugo Duminil-Copin

For solving longstanding problems in the probabilistic theory of phase transitions in statistical physics, especially in dimensions three and four.

June Huh

For bringing the ideas of Hodge theory to combinatorics, the proof of the Dowling–Wilson conjecture for geometric lattices, the proof of the Heron–Rota–Welsh conjecture for matroids, the development of the theory of Lorentzian polynomials, and the proof of the strong Mason conjecture.

James Maynard

For contributions to analytic number theory, which have led to major advances in the understanding of the structure of prime numbers and in Diophantine approximation.

Maryna Viazovska

For the proof that the E_8 lattice provides the densest packing of identical spheres in 8 dimensions, and further contributions to related extremal problems and interpolation problems in Fourier analysis.

Useful Links